Happiness Debunked and Finding Your Bliss

Image

The U.S. Declaration of Independence states that all humans have “unalienable rights” to “Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness.” Therein lies one of humanity’s greatest flaws: the notion of pursuing happiness. Why the pursuit of happiness and not simply happiness? It is a popular belief amongst humans that happiness is hard to come by. Remember that: a belief. Not a fact. Let’s break this down, shall we?

This article has been moved to the new Urban Spiritual! Click the link to continue finding your bliss

By Terence Stone

If you enjoyed this article and want to get involved, please follow the blog, like us on facebook, or follow us on twitter.

5 thoughts on “Happiness Debunked and Finding Your Bliss

  1. Terence, maybe it’s a question of semantics. I use the word “happiness” all the time. By it, I certainly don’t mean the pursuit of happiness. I simply mean the awareness, the feeling, of being alive. Something one can have-or does have-whatever one’s circumstances or stage of life.

    • Of course if that is your subjective view about the definition of happiness then that is wonderful. I suppose what I’m speaking to is the mass definition of happiness that most people buy into without truly thinking about it. I would tend to agree with you. For me, when I think of the word happiness, it means ultimate peace. Though, I find that I often have to clarify when speaking to others as to the way in which I use the word. That’s why I prefer bliss, I suppose. It doesn’t carry as much baggage. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

